Only one life

On Wednesday this week I received an unexpected phone call. Abby Kinne, long-time president of the Ohio Midwives Alliance and the first midwife ever to be awared the CPM credential, had died in her sleep at the age of 67. She had gone to work as usual the day before her death and seemed to be “her normal cheerful self.”

Abby Kinne, CPM

I had only known Abby for a few years, most recently working with her on the board of the Ohio Midwives Alliance. She was tireless and dedicated and will be deeply missed, not only by her husband, children, and grandchildren, but also the many families who were fortunate to have her as their midwife, the midwives she mentored and trained, and her colleagues in the birth community in Ohio and around the nation. Abby truly left her mark upon the world and made a difference in so many lives.

Each of us has been given one lifetime. We do not know how many years we will have. Each day is a gift and an opportunity. Do my choices today reflect that? My prayer for myself and for each of us is that we may make the most of each day, not putting our best efforts into “heaping up riches” that we cannot carry with us but building a lasting legacy of love and blessing. May we each come to the end of our days with no regrets.

“LORD, make me to know my end,
And what is the measure of my days,
That I may know how frail I am.
Indeed, You have made my days as handbreadths,
And my age is as nothing before You;
Certainly every man at his best state is but vapor.  Selah
Surely every man walks about like a shadow;
Surely they busy themselves in vain;
He heaps up riches,
And does not know who will gather them.” Psalm 39:4-6

One comment on “Only one life

  1. Devon says:

    Well said Sora!

Leave a Reply

